Chatting with Patsy Anderson

 When I talked with Patsy Anderson on June 11 on her talk show on WOLB 1010 AM Talk Radio, www.facebook.com/TeamRADIOBaltimore   ww.teamradiobaltimore.com I told her how I came to write Well Considered.  I had been doing some research into the life of Don Speed Smith Goodloe, first principal of Bowie Normal School (1910-1921) and the first African American graduate of Meadville (PA) Theological School, when I came upon a reference to lynchings that occurred in Prince George’s County as late as 1907. This piqued my interest, and I set about researching online databases (Tuskegee Institute, etc.), the Maryland State archives, Baltimore Sun archives, deed records in the county seat, Upper Marlboro, and the Prince George’s County Historical Society.  I was unable to corroborate the statement in the report (although there was one lynching in Annapolis in the adjacent county in December 1906) but it did give me the idea for the novel — “What if there had been a lynching in our county?…” I had my protagonist do the research I did and wander around the old homes, schools, churches, tobacco barns, and tenant farms that I show people when I give them tours of historical sites in the area. I did a tour last Saturday, and one tour goer asked me if I researched local history in order to write Well Considered or if my interest in history came first. I told him my interest in history preceded work on the novel.

This entry was posted in Relating to Well Considered, the novel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

