The elders

For ten years, my parents and father-in-law lived at Collington Life Care Community in Mitchellville, Maryland, a wonderful place where people can enjoy sharing interesting activities with others while they gradually age in place. All three of my relatives eventually passed away. I made so many friends visiting there that I keep returning to see them. I join The Sing for residents with Alzheimer’s on many Friday afternoons, enjoying the old songs and performing a capella renditions for them from old musical comedies. After The Sing last Friday, I went to visit a 96-year-old friend, an attorney who was one of the first women to sit for the Washington D.C. Bar exam. Although she has been bedridden for more than a year, her mind is sharp. There she was, reading Well Considered, nearly finished, although she can only hold up the book for a few pages at a time because it is so heavy for her. Stuck in the book was the dollar bill I gave her as change when she purchased the book. She had said, “What am I going to do with this?” (having nowhere to use cash).  I told her, “Use it for a book mark.” In writing about the 105-year-old woman in the nursing home in Well Considered, I had many real-life examples at Collington to draw from — people in their nineties and over 100 years old who are still telling their stories and participating in new ones.

This entry was posted in Relating to Well Considered, the novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

