What I have in common with Michelle Obama

"I do not like green eggs and ham!"

“I do not like green eggs and ham!”

Today I found I have something new in common with First Lady Michelle Obama. We both read Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss to children during Read Across America Day sponsored by NEA. We both got to read, “I do not LIKE green eggs and ham, Sam I am.” My students were third graders. What a joy. They all listened attentively and really were involved even though they had all read the book before. Along the way, I had to ask if they like broccoli. Some did, some didn’t. “You should try it!” I said. I followed the reading with a story of my own–a canoe story (from my upcoming young adult novel Canoedling) about battling a school of piranhas in the Amazon River and being saved by the school teacher. Coincidentally, they had just finished studying about piranhas. One child followed up with the standard question, “Was that a real story?” I replied, “Yes…but of course, it was fiction.” “Maybe it was realistic fiction,” another suggested. Fiction is a wonderful word. I’m glad I didn’t have to say, “No, it wasn’t real. I was lying.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

