Home away from home

Birthday Party at Busboys and Poets - Hyattsville

Audrey Engdahl entrances audience at Morris birthday party at Busboys and Poets – Hyattsville

These days I’m frequently finding myself  at the intersection of Baltimore Avenue and Jefferson Street in the Arts District of Hyattsville, MD. A couple of weeks ago I knew I was due at Busboys and Poets-Hyattsville restaurant at that location to celebrate my birthday. I didn’t know the details of the bash, so you could call it a surprise. It was great, thanks to my wife, the party planner!

Restaurant owner and artist Andy Shallal speaks at Busboys and Poets-Hyattsville Book Club

Restaurant owner and artist Andy Shallal speaks at Busboys and Poets Book Club @ Hyattsville

Then it was back to Busboys on Saturday for the Busboys and Poets Book Club @ Hyattsville. We meet the last Saturday of each month, so the next meeting is September 28. From 9:00 am to 9:30, the group will discuss Chapters 7 & 8 of Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States and from 9:30 to 11:00, Chapters 1 & 2 of A Problem from Hell: America and the Age of Genocide  by Samantha Power, current United States Ambassador to the United Nations. I won’t be able to attend that meeting: I’ll be selling my books at the Old Bowie (MD) Fall Festival.

This morning I received word that I will presenting my books at Busboys and Poets at “FIRST FRIDAY ARTIST TALKS” THIS COMING FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 6, AT 5:30 pm as a preview of the Hyattsville Arts Festival, which is on Sept. 14.  This presentation will be a little different for me, as I will focus on my book cover artwork painted by Audrey Engdahl.

A COVERcologne 12-0609-12-3 Cover Well Considered

FEATURED EVENT
Busboys and Poets presents “First Fridays,” a monthly series, which

includes artist talks, local studio visits and more! Mixing up the First Friday Gallery Walks popular to many U.S. cities, whereby arts venues all open their doors at the same time, Busboys’ “First Fridays” will combine a reception, artist talks and the unique opportunity to meet other local artists, as well as see their work in the surrounding areas. Light hors d’oeuvres will be served.

5:30pm @ Hyattsville, $5 suggested donation
_

Then the following weekend at this same intersection I’ll be back for the Hyattsville Arts Festival on Saturday, Sept. 14.

Hyattsville Arts Festival Banner 2013

Community Photo Gallery Exhibitors Listing

This entry was posted in Relating to Cologne No. 10 for Men, Relating to Well Considered, the novel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

