Helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent

"Yousof Omeish, 15, the leader of Boy Scout Troop 114, talks to members at their weekly meeting."

“Yousof Omeish, 15, the leader of Boy Scout Troop 114,” at the Islamic Center of Northern Virginia, “talks to members at their weekly meeting.” –Washington Post, 12-14-15, Petula Dvorak, “Muslim Boy Scouts pledge, pray, tie knots”

Yesterday, the Washington Post had an article by Petula Dvorak that I thought was important to share, about Muslim Boy Scout troops in the Washington D.C. area.

You may remember my series of posts answering questions about Muslims in America, (Funny, you don’t look like a . . . ), Part-4 included a section on Muslim Girl Scouts. The above article complements that. It also fits with my blog post, The last time I saw Paris… which quoted George W. Bush as saying to Congress on September 20, 2001, immediately after the terrorist attack on New York and Washington,

“Islam is ‘practiced freely by many millions of Americans and by millions more in countries that America counts as friends. Its teachings are good and peaceful, and those who commit evil in the name of Allah blaspheme the name of Allah. The terrorists are traitors to their own faith, trying, in effect, to hijack Islam itself.'”

In this time of hysteria over terrorists in our country, which has been heated to over-boiling by politicians and news purveyors, I feel I must stand up for Muslim-Americans and for freedom of religion in our country.

I am reminded of the poem by Martin Niemöller:

First They Came for the Jews
by Martin Niemöller

First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

