The Empty Chair

I was unable to be at the Hyattsville (MD) Arts and Ales Festival at the opening bell, so Barbara set up a display on an empty chair with our pictures showing before and after photos of us fifty years apart. The “before” picture was part of my first blog post about the Ken Burns and Lynn Novick Vietnam War series.

This was an effort to get passersby interested in purchasing Cologne No. 10 For Men, my Vietnam War satire. It turns out that many people are watching the series and are astounded by the history. She displayed the “Follow Me on my blog at richardmorrisauthor.wordpress.com/blog” notebook with printed copies of my five blogposts about the series.

Kids, dogs, and art

She sold several books before I arrived. And then we sold some more (several times my usual expectation at festivals for a book an hour), along with copies of my other books. Some were interested in my historical thriller from Prince George’s County, MD, Well Considered. Others had Cleveland connections and were curious about Canoedling in Cleveland. Still others wanted to learn more about Islam in Masjid Morning.

Craft Beer and Ale

It was a glorious, sunny day, with lots of kids and dogs, folks drinking craft beer, perusing juried art, and many people interested in my books. Thanks to the Hyattsville Community Development Corporation for a very successful festival.

Art Car

 

My next appearance is at the Zombie Run where I am a sponsor (but not a runner) on 10-14-2017. Signups are currently being accepted.

This entry was posted in Relating to Canoedling in Cleveland, Relating to Cologne No. 10 for Men, Relating to Masjid Morning, Relating to Well Considered, the novel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

